Cuba Headlines

Cuba News, Breaking News, Articles and Daily Information

  • Submitted by: Camila
  • 11 / 11 / 2014

José Dariel Abreu and Alexei Ramirez both players of the Chicago White Sox, were selected as worthy of the Silver Slugger Award granted by the managers and coaches in the MLB. For Ramirez this is the second time that takes home the award.

Abreu, who could end up as rookie of the year in the American League, has hit .317 with 37 homers and 107 RBIs in his first season in the majors. Meanwhile Ramirez has batted .273.

Other winners were Adrian Beltre, who received the award for the fourth time, and Jose Bautista won three like Mike Trout, Victor Martinez with two of them, the Venezuelan Jose Altuve, Brazilian Yan Gomes and Michael Brantley received the Silver Slugger for the first time. All of them in the American League.

In the National League, Adrian Gonzalez took his second Silver Slugger. Like Gonzalez, won the trophy for the second time Buster Posey and Justin Upton. Andrew McCutchen got his third prize, like Ian Desmond. The list of prizes in the NL was completed with those granted to Neil Walker, Anthony Rendon, Giancarlo Stanton and Madison Bumgarner.

Related News