Cuba Headlines

Cuba News, Breaking News, Articles and Daily Information

  • Submitted by: Luis Manuel Mazorra
  • 10 / 01 / 2014

Havana was chosen in voting as a finalist to be among the New 7 Wonders Cities of the World, announced the Ministry of Tourism, leaving over 1200 cities in over 220 countries who were also nominated. The event is organized by the Swiss foundation New7Wonders and began in 2012. 

The 21 finalists for the 7 Wonder Cities of the World, as the ratings are: Bangkok, Barcelona, Beirut, Chicago, Doha, Durban, Havana, Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur, La Paz, London, Mendoza, Mexico City, Mumbai, Perth, Quito, Reykjavik, St. Petersburg, Seoul, Shenzhen and Vigan.

The New7Wonders Cities competition is in its penultimate stage. The last stage starts on October 7 to end December 7, when will be announced the final results. The traditional way to vote, as other projects of this foundation is through site.

In this regard the Tourism Ministry has been using Facebook and Twitter in a promotional campaign for Cubans, residents or not in the Isle, and travelers anywhere vote for Havana. Given the connectivity problems that exist in the island will be very few residents who can vote.

The New7Wonders Foundation has done before this kind of competition like the selection of the New 7 Wonders of the World in 2007 and the 7 Wonders of Nature in 2011.

The New 7 Wonders of the World winners were: Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, the Great Wall of China, the ancient city of Petra, the Inca citadel of Machu Picchu, the Pyramid of Chichen Itza, the Colosseum and the Taj Mahal.

The 7 Wonders of Nature are: the Amazon, Halong Bay, Iguazu Falls, Jeju Island, Komodo, the Puerto Princesa Underground River and Table Mountain.

Source: OnCuba

Related News