Cuba Headlines

Cuba News, Breaking News, Articles and Daily Information

  • Submitted by: lena campos
  • 11 / 18 / 2012

Cuban singer and songwriter Eliades Ochoa won the 2012 Latin Grammy award for best traditional tropical album, with his CD "Un bolero para ti" (A Bolero For You).

Ochoa was the only winner of the statuette, among a group of musicians comprised of maestro Leo Brouwer, Manuel Galban and dance music band Los Van Van, directed by Juan Formell, among others.

During the awarding ceremony, prior to the great show held at the Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino, in Las Vegas, it was also known that Brazilian singer Caetano Veloso won, along with Gilberto Gil and Ivete Sangalo, the statuette for the Best Album of Brazilian popular music.

The Mexican brother-sister pop duo Jesse & Joy Huerta was the feeling of the evening after winning four awards in the categories of best recording and song of the year, with the CD íCorre! (Run!), Best Contemporary Pop Vocal Album for "Con quien se queda el perro" (Who Gets the Dog), and Best Short Form Music Video, with "Me voy" (I'm going).

The statuette for the Best Ranchero Album went to Mexican singer Pepe Aguilar, for "Mas de un camino" (More Than One Path), while the award for Best Norteño Album, went to Los Tucanes de Tijuana with the CD "365 Días" (365 Days).

Spanish singer David Bisbal won in the category for the best traditional pop vocal album, with "Una noche en el Teatro Real" (A Night at the Royal Theater), Colombian Fonseca won the award in the best tropical fusion album with "Ilusion+" (Illusion+), and Dominican Milly Quezada won the best contemporary tropical album, "Aqui estoy yo" (Here I Am).

Mexican Carla Morrison won two awards for the Best Album and the Best Alternative Album with the CD "Dejenme llorar" (Let Me Cry), and Puerto Rican Don Omar won two prizes in the category of Best Urban Album with MT02 New Generation, and Best Urban Song with "Hasta que salga el sol" (Until The Sun Comes Up).

Colombian Juanes won in the category of Best Long Video with Juanes: MTV Unplugged, while Uruguayan rock band Cuarteto De Nos won the Best Pop/Rock Album, with "Porfiado" (Stubborn), and the Best Rock Song, with "Cuando sea grande" (When I grow up).

Mexican rock band Molotov won the Best Rock Album with "Desde Rusia con amor" (From Russia With Love), the Best Salsa Album went to Nicaraguan Luis Enrique, with "Soy y sere" (I Am and I Will Be), and the Best Singer-Songwriter Album went to the Peruvian Gian Marco, with "20 años" (20 Years).

Dominican Juan Luis Guerra, who had six nominations, only won the award for Best Producer of the Year.

Source: Radio

Related News