Cuba Headlines

Cuba News, Breaking News, Articles and Daily Information

Contemporary Music Festival: Cuban Writers and Artists and Cuba´s Music Institute Official Announcement
The Basílica de San Francisco de Asís concert hall will be the venue of the opening concert, dedicated to Cuban chamber music. Renowned Cuban soloists, choirs, chamber orchestras and musical groups will perform pieces by prestigious composers like Harold Gramatges, Carlos Fariñas, Leo Brouwer, Alfredo Diez Nieto, Juan Blanco, Guido López- Gavilán, Roberto Valera, Héctor Angulo, Juan Piñera, as well as works by young artists like Mónica O´Reilly, Teresa Núñez, Elvira Peña, Yanier Hechavarría and Siegrid Macías.

The 23rd Havana festival will also feature foreign guests, including Italians Daniele Roccato (double bass) and Marco Tezza (piano); Canadian Tanya Prochazka (cello); Dutch Marcel Worms (piano); Austrians Gustavo Balanesco (piano) and Silvia Gelos (flute); Spaniard Josep María Balanyá (composer and pianist); Venezuelans Alfredo Rugeles (composer and orchestra conductor) and Diana Arismendi (composer); Mexican Leticia Armijo (composer); Brazilians Ana Lucia Altino (piano), Leonardo Altino (cello) and Rafael García (orchestra conductor); Chileans Alejandro Lavanderos, (flute) and Jorge Espinosa (bassoon); Uruguayans Gerardo Gramajo (viola) and Fernando Britos (guitar); Puerto Rican José Antonio López (guitar) and Colombian Héctor González (guitar).

The Amadeo Roldán Auditorium, the Basílica Menor de San Francisco de Asís concert hall, the Casa de las Américas cultural institution and the Rubén Martínez Villena hall of UNEAC will serve as venues of concerts, conferences, master classes and workshops by invited foreign artists. The festival´s closing activity will be a concert by the National Symphony Orchestra, set for Sunday, October 5th .

Founded in 1984, the Havana festivals of contemporary music have been attended by world prestigious composers like Luigi Nono, Krystof Penderecki, Zyygniew Rudzinski, Hans Werner Henze, Sten Hanson, Luis de Pablo, Ramón Barce, Marlos Nobre, Gerardo Gandini, Manuel de Elías, Alfredo del Mónaco, Alfredo Rugeles, Celso Garrido Lecca, Manuel Enríquez, Xavier Montsalvatge, Florentín Giménez, Jorge Sarmientos, Harold Gramatges, Leo Brouwer, Carlos Fariñas, Juan Blanco, Roberto Valera and Juan Piñera, among many others.

Cuban maestro Guido López-Gavilán presides over the event´s organizing committee.



Related News